Artists Plan

My type of utilitarian project that I finished is a tall cup and the glazes that I will be using are, a teal glaze and a light blue glaze. The stage that my utilitarian form is in is bisque fired. I have learned that you have to have about four coats of glaze on your project. One other thing I learned from others is never glaze the bottom of your project because it will stick to the kiln shelf.

Artists Solve Problems

Some challenges that occurred as I worked were, my soft slab construction was to thin, my slab cracked down the middle when I flipped it from the slab roller, and when I made my lid it wasn’t even on both sides and didn’t fit right. My unexpected turn was the bottom of my soft slab construction fell off because I didn’t attach it right. I made sure I  scored the bottom and smoothed it out good so it would stay.
            

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*